Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

turnways
Jun 22, 2004

Hey folks, I'm in the market for a laptop with some unique features that I could use some help on. I've done a bit of homework and come up with some solutions, but I was hoping there might be some other ones I'm missing I could possibly consider.

I'm a concept artist for a video game company, and right now I'm using a hodgepodge of a few different devices to do all my mobile work/play on. I've got an older tablet PC, an iPad with a Pogo Connect stylus, and my Cintiq with a full desktop at home. The iPad, while decent for sketching, doesn't really fit my workflow all that well, and my old tablet is sorely outdated for the type of images I'm creating these days (huge paintings, lot of layers, some 3d stuff mixed in). Ideally, I'd like to get a new tablet PC utilizing some of the latest stuff that's come out in order to do some work while on the go. My Cintiq setup is fantastic at home, but I'm finding myself having to do more work on the road. I'd also like to be able to play some games on it, mainly for reference for work.

Things I need:

-tablet/pc hybrid with a Wacom digitizer stylus
-able to run Photoshop with pressure sensitivity very well (core i5)
-4gb RAM minimum, preferably 8gb
-128-256gb SSD

Things I'd like:

-dedicated graphics card (like the nVidia 650M)
-core i7