Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Gunder
May 21, 2003

97.5 The Brodeo

I'm not sure if this is the correct thread for this question, but i'm looking to buy a new headset for my gaming PC. Ideally it would sound really nice, and have a good quality microphone attached. I've been using the great Sennheiser PC350 for about 6-7 years now, and the ear cup and head-cushion lining have been disintegrating all over my head for the past 12 months. I know that it's possible to get replacement ear cups and cushions, but since Sennheiser no longer makes the model in question, i've seen lots of posts about people only being able to buy dodgy third party replacements that are really sub-standard. If I could, i'd just buy another PC350, but they've been discontinued, and it seems like what replaced the model is pretty much garbage. (The set I have was their first foray into this category and was essentially one of their better headsets with a mic strapped to it. In recent years they've started cutting costs and corners and the quality seems to have really tanked.)

Are there any agreed upon great quality headsets that aren't ludicrously overpriced? I'd like to avoid gimmicky features like mock surround sound and supposed 7.1 headsets if I can. My max budget is about £120-£150 (around $200-$230).