Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

habituallyred
Feb 6, 2015

Isaac posted:

I am very confused how this gearhead 2 game works. Can i get some advicenor a link or someone twlling me not to bother

I am no expert on the game, but here are some tips to keep you alive in the start of the game:

Make an advanced start character and max their speed and reflexes. Reflexes controls avoiding damage at both scales and lots of weapons use it too. Speed literally controls how much you can do with each turn. A low speed character will sit there like a lump while their enemies wreck them. Do not completely dump charisma.

Always have Mecha Piloting, Dodging, Initiative, and Conversation on your characters. I know the last patch made dodging slightly less important, but it still the best way to not die. Initiative ties in with speed. Conversation means that people will actually give you missions.

Pick a Gear with hands to start out with. It speeds up looting and means that you are not completely screwed if you run out of ammo during a fight. The calculation for how weight damages your dodge value goes something like Installed Weapons>Carried Weapons>Weapons in Inventory.