Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

StrixNebulosa
Feb 14, 2012

You cheated not only the game, but yourself.
But most of all, you cheated BABA

Hello, I am a newbie to this series playing Shadow of Chernobyl for the first time. I have the ZRP mod installed, and so far the game runs smoothly.

I am having some culture shock issues - for example, I die 90% of the time when I engage with an enemy. My pistol seems to do nothing except against dogs, and if I don't aim instantly I'll be dead first. Stuff like that. So I'm trying to work around it by not doing combat and stuff, but...

- I could not get through the railway tunnel without dying, so I went to the military checkpoint instead and shotgunned a soldier to the face so he died, then repeated with the next guy and ran away since I was on the other side. Is... this a valid way to do this quest? I feel weird, like I'm breaking something.

- There are random red dot enemies near the Fox dude you help out by killing a pack of weird dogs. Am I supposed to engage?

For more context I'm still playing Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Wildlands so my brain is still in full "an enemy will get a glowing marker above their head when you see them, and you can kill anyone no problem" mode. I'm trying to adjust, haha.

e: Also, how scarce is stuff in this game? If I burn a medkit now, am I screwed later?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

StrixNebulosa
Feb 14, 2012