Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Comb Your Beard
Sep 28, 2007

Chillin' like a villian.
Hi, I'm a full stack developer in the DC area. My biggest strength is the back end, and turning user wants into requirements, and requirements into business logic. My weakness is probably not being modern enough in the front end and application layer.

My current job I like the people and work a lot, but I feel like the company culture is very "cheap," I have multiple issues with my compensation.

My question is how do I begin looking? I know once my resume is "out there" again the recruiters will descend like locusts.

Tentatively my plan is go up on dice.com, use hired.com, and apply to a few companies directly all simultaneously. I don't want to be exclusive with one group of recruiters.

I want to do this in an orderly fashion, I don't want to miss the right job for me.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Comb Your Beard
Sep 28, 2007

Chillin' like a villian.
Hired.com I washed out for some reason. They seem pretty opaque with their process, I spent at least an hour on my profile.

I got a call from a recruiter that has some promise. Downsides are: Spring MVC I dislike, and it's right between Chinatown and Metro Center in DC, I want something where driving and parking is a bit more feasible.

Comb Your Beard
Sep 28, 2007

Chillin' like a villian.
Is Shirlington to Tyson's Corner a manageable commute?