Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

withoutclass
Nov 6, 2007

Resist the siren call of rhinocerosness

College Slice

borkencode posted:

Is this true outside of Silicon Valley? I've been writing code in Chicago for 7 years, and make less than that.

I made it there in about 5-6 years in Chicago so yea.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

withoutclass
Nov 6, 2007

College Slice

return0 posted:

USA tech salaries are just ridiculous. I get paid a decent wage for where I live in the UK (up north far away from London) and converting my salary from GBP to USD shows I earn $65K. Is the US extremely expensive for housing or petrol something?

Being far and away from a major city is most of it I'd say. The numbers you're seeing are for major metro areas. If I lived and worked far outside of Chicago I'd expect to be making a lot closer to what you are. COL being the major factor.

withoutclass
Nov 6, 2007

College Slice
Also there's Kotlin now (which friggin owns) to freshen up Java's lack of competitiveness with C#.

withoutclass
Nov 6, 2007

College Slice
I worked in lockbox for a bank before and had to do 7 years of living and working history with no breaks and a regular/cursive writing submission. Background check, NDA, all that. So I wouldn't bat an eye if it were a financial institution.

withoutclass
Nov 6, 2007

College Slice
Engineer to me sounds more like solving problems and less like being a code janitor.