Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Hiowf
Jun 28, 2013

We don't do .DOC in my cave.

Dog Jones posted:

I want to get into embedded systems. I think I am qualified. In general I am a very experienced programmer. I know a lot about programming in assembly w/ several different types of instruction sets, low level optimizations, operating systems, concurrent programming. However, I have never actually done anything with embedded systems, and don't know much about electric engineering. Should I bother applying for embedded systems jobs?

There's this level nowadays where your hardware is powerful enough to run a full OS (usually Linux) but is weak enough that a strong understanding of all the things you list helps enormously in making good, performant applications, and where you maybe will need to debug some peripheral on an EE level every once in a blue moon. It's often still called embedded but you could also call it mobile.

Sounds like you'd be a decent fit. Should also be obvious how to get some small extra foot-in-the-door experience in that area.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Hiowf
Jun 28, 2013

Arachnamus posted:

Is this whiteboarding business really that common over there? The last few jobs I've had have been on the strength of a conversation.

I have no idea what "over there" means but the jobs I had in the US and Europe all involved coding as part of the interview.