Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Flaming June
Oct 21, 2004

Hey thread,

Mostly anecdotal evidence, but what is your general success rate of interviews / offers?

I am having a lot of frustration with getting a new job. My background is 3 years experience in software, still at my first job in central PA. I don't have a formal CS degree, but I do have a BS in Physics, and I do take open courseware to try to plug the gaps in fundamentals I sometimes have. I have been applying to positions in Philadelphia and NYC, with a preference for NYC. Since starting the job hunt 1.5 years ago, I have gotten 10 in-person interviews and received 0 job offers.

This has been pretty annoying. A few days ago I had what was on my end a really good interview that included a coding exercise, data modeling/design exercise, and a more loose cultural fit session. I was able to solve all of the exercises pretty quickly, and the third part seemed to go well. However, I still received a rejection notice afterwards. Based on what I read on Glassdoor, there would have been one more short interview with management as the final part of the process had it continued.