Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Necc0
Jun 30, 2005

by exmarx
Broken Cake
Oh man I hope I didn't find this thread too late, definitely could use some advice as I'm not only at a crossroad but there's a hard time-limit as well.

I graduated in 2012 with a dual degree in software engineering & computer science and have been working consulting gigs ever since. On the plus side this allowed me to get a ton of experience in all the 'soft' but necessary business skills that so many tech guys lack but on the negative side it's been very rare for me to actually build anything substantial rather than quick one-off jobs. Fortunately I'm one of those tech guys who actually has naturally good people skills so I took to this role readily and have been incredibly successful so far. I've been with my current employer for about 2.5 years now and I've grown rapidly to the point that I have ownership over entire projects and am brought in as an auxiliary firefighter on others as I've developed a reputation as the 'gets poo poo done' guy.