Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Pump Jockey
Mar 15, 2019

i believe in love

SuperKlaus posted:

Solano and Stanislaus Counties shutting down courts at noon (marches planned at them). I don't know anything, I'm just a lawyer, so what I hears about the courts I posts.

I have jury duty in Stanislaus county next week :pray:

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Dirk the Average
Feb 7, 2012

"This may have been a mistake."

droll posted:

Do you think shutting down with no clear reopen date is the same as shutting down for 1 public holiday which has been known for decades in advance?

On the other hand, we shut courts down for natural disasters and the like. If there's a fire or an earthquake, nobody would expect the court to be in session. If there are riots and protests, it's not exactly out of the question for courts to shut down temporarily as well; few people would want to go to jury duty and then get out of court in the middle of a riot.

droll
Jan 9, 2020

by Azathoth
Oh good now they can arrest protestors, charge them and let them sit in buses for days/weeks until the court re-opens. Great idea!

Cup Runneth Over
Aug 8, 2009

She said life's
Too short to worry
Life's too long to wait
It's too short
Not to love everybody
Life's too long to hate

droll posted:

Oh good now they can arrest protestors, charge them and let them sit in buses for days/weeks until the court re-opens. Great idea!