Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Big Beef City
Aug 15, 2013

I dunno, does "being right" count as clever?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Big Beef City
Aug 15, 2013

Verisimilidude posted:

Even as a young athiest I knew that being athiest was all about not believing in X but also not caring that other people believe in X. I'm a scientist, so it's hard for me to rationalize a divine or omnipotent being, especially one whose actions are dictated by a text written by dozens of different ancients, many of whom were separated by continents and centuries. That's me though. I think it's dumb when people say or do mean poo poo in the name of religion, but it's also dumb when people say or do mean poo poo in the name of athiesm.

The way people are treating it, athiesm is becoming just another religion, complete with its own texts, figureheads, and places of congregation. I'm finding it harder to "identify" as an athiest, because every time you hear something about athiests on the news or in the media it's always about what tremendous poo poo heels they are.

Really, you should /never/ hear about athiests on the news or in the media, except in the context of "more (or less) people are identifying themselves as athiests", because if you're trying to promote athiesm you're trying too hard.

same

Big Beef City
Aug 15, 2013

Raere posted: