Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Nog
May 15, 2006

Just like the thread title says, I'm just curious about how the cash-in-transit industry works. I work as an Operations Manager in the transportation industry now, but I have a pretty solid security background through the military. I'm kind of interested in cash-in-transit as a possible direction for my career, but I'd kind of like to get a better feel for the industry and its specifics. I'm sure a lot of things are simple once you see them, but I can't even wrap my head around some of the basics right now.

For instance, how do you give/get receipts for what you pick up and drop off? I worked in a cash room when I was younger, and counting through even $20000 bucks was a long process. I can't imagine that guards are expected to count through whatever they receive, issue a receipt, and still have more than a dozen stops on their route in a day. How does this process even work?

I've also read that most companies never let the driver get out of the truck on a route. Why? Why doesn't the driver serve as an additional guard while the other guard is engaged doing things like servicing ATMs? That seems strange to me. What does the hopper do if he needs to take a poo poo? How do drivers even take their federally mandated lunch and two 10 minute breaks if they can't stop?