Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Rabhadh
Aug 26, 2007

What are the most common HEMA injuries anyway, elbow hyper extension?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Rabhadh
Aug 26, 2007

I very quickly got used to the range, but we're doing sword and buckler so I'm always trying to punch a fucker with the buckler. I was told the grappling is cool if it's your only option

Rabhadh
Aug 26, 2007

Obviously I'm also new at this but I found if you concentrate on clearing or binding their sword in the first exchange you can make time for yourself to get in close. This is based on a grand total of 2 sparring sessions so please correct me if I'm wrong here.

Rabhadh
Aug 26, 2007

I'm coming into the hema thing with very little grappling experience but quite a bit of boxing experience and it's clear that apart from the speedy footwork I got from boxing, grappling would have been a much more useful thing to have trained.

Rabhadh
Aug 26, 2007

William E. Fairbairn's style of knife fighting that he developed is all slashing all the time, plus keeping your bodylow and out of the way

Rabhadh
Aug 26, 2007

Liquid Communism posted:

This seems likely to me, because knife fights are nasty like that. The first rule of knife fighting has always been that you're going to get cut, win or lose.

If only because it's really hard to do enough damage to instantly incapacitate an opponent with a single knife shot.