Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
FURY-161
Dec 28, 2005

Hello goons!

So I have a fairly unusual line of work - I make wildlife documentaries for a living. I work in TV, which doubtless someone has already written about here. But nature shows have their own particular quirks that set them apart even form other documentaries, and I thought I'd hold forth.

This isn't me, but I have done this

What do you do?
Right now, I'm just coming off my second directing gig. Still a relative newcomer to the industry, I've had a lot of different roles in quite a short space of time: researcher, developer, camera operator, writer, diver, editor and director. It can be quite a mixed bag, especially when you're working in the small time end of the business - which I definitely am.

Generally I tend to ping pong back and forth between the office-based side of the job and the "glamorous" bit where girzzled camera ops hike around getting sweaty and wait for days on end to get the perfect shot of an elusive critter.

How did you get into this?