Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

hooah
Feb 6, 2006
WTF?

Khablam posted:

Is there actually a search replacement that's actually good?
Win 10 search makes me yearn for the days of Google desktop.

I've been using Everything for a few years and it's never let me down.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

hooah
Feb 6, 2006
WTF?

WattsvilleBlues posted:

Is there a keyboard shortcut to activate Everything from anywhere?

Not that I'm aware of. I don't need to search often enough that that bothers me. I suppose you might be able to use something like AutoHotkey to bind a key to launch Everything.

hooah
Feb 6, 2006
WTF?
I was reading an article this morning on how to check your laptop battery's life, and it said to run powercfg /batteryreport, but when I tried this (Windows 10 Home), I got an error saying "The Power Efficiency Diagnostic library (energy.dll) could not be loaded." What's gone wrong here?

hooah
Feb 6, 2006
WTF?

Riso posted:

You did open a prompt with administrative rights?

Erm, no, because that wasn't specified in the article. That got the command to work though, thanks.

hooah
Feb 6, 2006
WTF?
Can you use ctrl+shift+esc to bring up the task manager directly?

hooah
Feb 6, 2006
WTF?