Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Captain Walker
Apr 7, 2009

Mother knows best
Listen to your mother
It's a scary world out there
Background: I graduated from college in 2012 with an utterly useless degree and spent the following two years trying to find employment in Southern California. Work history includes a summer at a theme park (fired because I'm autistic and didn't understand that I was being given a verbal warning), "office assistant"/junior analyst at an SEO firm (fired when they realized they needed someone who actually knew SEO), and whatever menial office jobs the temp agencies could scrounge up.

August of 2014: My parents laid out the money for ads in a local paper for my computer repair business, and since then we've sunk something like $2,500 into print ads, a website, placement at a local car wash, business cards, etc.. My skill set is the sort of stuff what SH/SC would call "computer janitor" work; I'm studying for an A+ certification which I'm hoping will help establish my legitimacy. But I still can't loving get any work, at least not consistently. I made $2,300 in August, but only $800 in September, and my car payment, student loans and rent cost me something like $700 a month.