Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

No Wave
Sep 18, 2005

Yogg-Saron fan #1

i started playing guilty gear xrd recently. It's really fun! Should I just spend 40+ hours in training mode until I can control my character then go online? I imagine playing vs ai teaches you bad habits (which i learned a lot of in high school playing x2 very casually)

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

No Wave
Sep 18, 2005

Yogg-Saron fan #1

exquisite tea posted:

Play a waifu character that you'll be okay looking at for hundreds of hours and whom you'd do anything to protect from harm.
i bought the game to play jam after seeing it during evo.

No Wave
Sep 18, 2005

Yogg-Saron fan #1

Natural 20 posted:

I've actually begun to disagree with this viewpoint.

Just play is a fine thing to say but broadly speaking most of the time it just helps with your defense. Broadly when someone is dominating you, you get so few opportunities for actual offense that you just don't get the practice there that you need to be able to make matches flow.

There's an extent therefore that I think you need to get certain very basic things automatically fluid before you start trying to compete.