Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
The Midniter
Jul 9, 2001

I'm currently at a point in my career where I'm trying to make the leap. A lot of the positions I'm looking at require some knowledge (if not in-depth) of the corporate budgeting process. I've had some experience here and there, but only bits and pieces. Here is my general understanding of the process:

Upper management decides on a growth target for the coming year/quarter. With this goal in mind, they create a general budget based on current revenue plus projected growth. This is the money they have to spend on the company.

My question is how this drips down from upper management to individual departments. Do department heads go to their bosses and say "This is how much money I need this year/quarter", or do their bosses tell them "This is how much money you have to spend"?

How does one estimate a budget? Who in an organization would calculate and report the company revenue versus the budget? I know it'd be somebody in the finance area, but I'm not sure whom.

I remember one year, the president addressed the company and made a statement like "The company set a very aggressive budget and we're having trouble hitting it." Does that mean they overestimated the amount of growth the company would experience, or that there were revenue shortfalls in already-existing areas thought to be sustained, or both?