Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
extra stout
Feb 24, 2005

ISILDUR's ERR
I don't actually want to explain mushrooms at length because I am not a properly trained mycologist, so far what I've been taught and taught myself would lead me to summarize mushrooms as being more complicated and more dangerous than learning to identify trees, or even how to carve wood or use trees for medicinal purposes, firewood, etc. But risk and reward as always seems to scale. If you become mildly interested in mushrooms you can take nice pictures of them and if you are reckless you can also die, if you are willing to slowly learn a whole lot about mushrooms you will have a lot of free food for the rest of your life with minimal risk. They also have other uses, and I'm not talking about chaga tea supposedly fighting cancer, or any other medicinal poo poo that cannot be proven. In terms of drug properties, I think we should limit the thread to talking only about the legal and not that fun for most people mushrooms that contain psychoactive chemicals. If you're interested in learning about Psilocybins that topic already has a home in TCC.

I am lazy and will do one species per post, and you all have to do work and provide similar pictures and anecdotes, questions, etc, because I am only familiar with a few dozen mushrooms.