Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
PittTheElder
Feb 13, 2012

:geno: Yes, it's like a lava lamp.

Truga posted:

I'm completely new to this game, but can I dump my starting dudes entirely and replace them all with robots/androids? :v:

You can, but it's a huge pain in the rear end, because sectors seem to get extra retarded when they have only robot pops in them.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

PittTheElder
Feb 13, 2012

Stellaris: The substructure of the thread regresses infinitely towards smaller and smaller arguments. Behind genocide we find political ideology, and behind ideology, thread titles. Each layer unraveled reveals new secrets, but also new mysteries

PittTheElder
Feb 13, 2012

StrixNebulosa posted:

I'm getting real mad at how this game handles combat: doomstacks. Every time I think I've got enough ships to go push some alien tentacle in, they pop out with a 3k fleet and smear me all over the quadrant. Then I go online to find a guide on how to win at combat, and the first advice is to turn off the auto-complete option for ship designs, and - argh!

This is an obtuse, frustrating mechanic where I need to have the best doomstack with the best weapons, and it's really, really tedious. :argh:

....So of course, I've come here to ask for tips. What's the best up-to-date guide on how to get good at combat? Can I leave auto-complete on and focus on pumping out cruisers?