Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Regy Rusty
Apr 26, 2010

Possibly leucism, the other less well known type of condition involving loss of pigment

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leucism

Or it might be something else, I'm not a duck expert

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Regy Rusty
Apr 26, 2010

BeastOfExmoor posted:

Domesticated ducks are bred to hell and back and end up looking all sorts of ways. Same with Pigeons.

Edit: White bird isn't a Mallard. Not even sure what species that barnyard duck falls under. The back bird has a fairly common plumage pattern for domestic Mallards.

You made me curious so I decided to do a bit of research into domestic ducks.

Turns out the majority of worldwide barnyard duck breeds are in fact descended from Mallards. None of them have black bills like that though. It seems most likely that that particular duck is the result of a domestic duck mating with some wild duck with a black bill resulting in that one.

E: Wow mallards (and as a result domestic ducks) are able to interbreed with all kinds of duck species which is apparently a big conservation issue because they're so common and are threatening genetic diversity in many other duck populations.

Regy Rusty fucked around with this message at 15:09 on Jan 26, 2017

Regy Rusty
Apr 26, 2010

Haha that last panel was me when I visited Australia last year.

It didn't last long though because they are just that terrible.