Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Pennsylvanian
May 23, 2010

Hetman Bohdan Khmelnytsky Independent Presidential Regiment
Western Liberal Democracy or Death!
I write lots of short stories, usually centered around my life in the culinary industry and growing up in the Appalachians. I mostly read non-fiction and weird genre-bending stuff like Vonnegut. I recently started playing D&D for the first time with my friends over Discord, and it really put me in the mood for Medieval fantasy. I finally dove in and read The Hobbit and LOTR books, followed by Ice and Fire and The Witcher. All of these books gave me an absolute brainworm of an idea for a fantasy story whose themes are kind of based around stories about The Eastern Front that my Russian babysitter would tell me when I was a kid. I've got an outline for roughly 200 pages, and I've stopped at about 110. I'm currently looking for some ideas from other books before I push further with the project.