Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

abelwingnut
Dec 23, 2002

i am new to python so this is probably pretty easy.

let's say i have an if/else loop. if condition x, i want to set variable a = 'stringA', b = intB, and c = 'stringC'. if not condition x, i want to set variable a = 'stringAmod', b = intBmod, and c = 'stringCmod'. that's easy enough. what i'm unclear on is how best to combine the entire result set a, b, and c from the first condition to the entire result set a, b, and c from the else condition, and then write that entire set to a csv.

now, there's a simple way--in each condition, write each row to a csv after defining the variables. something like:

if x is true:
a = stringA
b = intB
c = stringC

write.writerow(a, b, c)

else:

a = stringAmod
b = intBmod
c = stringCmod

write.writerow(a, b, c)

--

however, i feel like a more efficient way would be to do something like:

if x is true:
a = stringA
b = intB
c = stringC

#i have no idea what the right thing here is, hence my question
jsonlikeobject = add(a, b, c)

else:
a = stringAmod
b = intBmod
c = stringCmod

jsonlikeobject = add(a, b, c)

writerow(cycle through jsonlikeobject, inserting each 'array' or whatever you'd call it.

does this make sense? if so, what am i looking for?

thanks.

abelwingnut fucked around with this message at 23:24 on Aug 18, 2020

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

abelwingnut
Dec 23, 2002