Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

POOL IS CLOSED
Jul 14, 2011

I'm just exploding with mackerel. This is the aji wo kutta of my discontent.
Pillbug
This is pretty interesting so far! I'm looking forward to the next part.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

POOL IS CLOSED
Jul 14, 2011

Pillbug
Hi! I'm not in the restaurant industry, but I am a payroll accountant.

Bartenders shouldn't be classified as FLSA-exempt workers -- meaning you cannot legally be paid on a salary basis (unless you're actually for real a manager). You must be paid an hourly rate for all hours worked and you should also receive overtime for any hours in excess of 40 hrs per workweek. Tips count towards making up the minimum wage set for servers in restaurants.

Your managers should not be stealing your tips, either. Tip pools are fine as long as the staff being tipped out are employees who customarily receive tips. These are federal protections.

As far as state laws go, employees receive the benefit of whichever rules are more favorable to them, state or fed.

https://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs15.pdf

Get a new job and file a grievance with your state DoL.

POOL IS CLOSED
Jul 14, 2011

Pillbug

mindphlux posted: