Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us $3,400 per month for bandwidth bills alone, and since we don't believe in shoving popup ads to our registered users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.
«42 »
wocobob
Jan 6, 2014

damages enemies w/ corn

I just started playing EO4 as my first EO game, and itís really fun so far!

Iíve heard the series is super hard/complex in general, though, so I wanted to check in here before I get too far: are there any newbie traps in the game? Anything I should know in terms of general tips/strategies?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Kyoujin
Oct 7, 2009

Most skills have diminishing returns after leveling them up halfway due to the subclass g mechanic. There are also some skills that don't play nice together. I think speedboost and fan dance are the biggest offenders.

Binds and ailments are usually very good as well as anything that boosts their effectiveness. Use a skill calculator to see how effective abilities really are.

Edit: always carry an ariadne thread. I usually bring 2 incase I forget to buy later.

Kyoujin fucked around with this message at May 25, 2018 around 00:25

Jimmy Hats
May 8, 2012

yeah that was pretty good

wocobob posted:

I just started playing EO4 as my first EO game, and itís really fun so far!

Iíve heard the series is super hard/complex in general, though, so I wanted to check in here before I get too far: are there any newbie traps in the game? Anything I should know in terms of general tips/strategies?

- Take it slow, save often.