Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Grakkus
Sep 4, 2011

cursedshitbox posted:

Yeah you'll work 12 hours for maybe 4 hours pay.

I've been working freelance for two years now and my experience is more along the lines of 4 hours work for 12 hours pay. This is Europe though so YMMV, I hear the US a pretty different attitude towards work

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Grakkus
Sep 4, 2011

Tomarse posted:

I guess you are not in IT in the UK? I'm under pressure to charge less per day. Nobody will let me charge expenses on top and I have to travel the entire country to get work so I seem to often do 6 hours of travel and then 6 hours of work for 8 hours of pay.

I do software development on 3-12 month contracts, primarily for Swiss companies. I work remotely, though, so I only have to travel when interviewing for jobs or for special occasions. On average I work 4-6 hours a day depending on how good I am at doing what I'm assigned, crunch periods notwithstanding. That may not sound like much but I'm usually about as productive (if not a little more) than my 9-5 inhouse coworkers, who from my observations tend to space the same amount of work out over an 8 hour work day with frequent coffee breaks etc.

The downside is that I charge 20% less than I would get working inhouse, but that pay cut is worth it for me for the freedom it gives.

Grakkus
Sep 4, 2011

General_Failure posted: