Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Peachfart
Jan 21, 2017

I'm a lead technician for a company that produces and services large copier/printers, and they while they do suck, they are far better than garbage tiny printers. Mostly because they cost between 10k-100k so actual engineering went into them.
The best advice I can give anyone is if you need a low volume machine, buy a laser Brother and throw it away when it breaks. If you need occasional color, go to Kinkos. If you need high volume, go lease a machine from a company and let the tech handle things.
Edit: There is nothing that is more wasteful and dumb than every person in the office having their own small printer.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Peachfart
Jan 21, 2017

That is amazing, I am/was(it is complicated) a lead senior tech for a photocopier company. I didn't realize there were so many of us on SA. I work for an OEM but it isn't Xerox.

Peachfart
Jan 21, 2017

Consumer grade printers are bad because they are made as cheaply as possible. It is as simple as that.
Office/Production printers are usually far higher quality and are much cheaper per copy, but your average person has no use for/can't afford one.

Peachfart
Jan 21, 2017

ShaneMacGowansTeeth posted: