Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

RillAkBea
Oct 11, 2008

I just started playing FFXV as a road trip simulator now that outside is banned for the time being.

I haven't played a Final Fantasy since the intro to XIII bored my pants clean off, but I'm enjoying this one so far. Camping, fishing and taking stupid photographs with diner mascots. :3:

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

RillAkBea
Oct 11, 2008

I'm about 15 hours into FFXV now (still on chapter 3 :sweatdrop:) and I was shocked to find a Crow's Nest location without a Kenny Crow out front for photos, my road trip is ruined!

Also, the neckbeard is hilariously accurate.

RillAkBea fucked around with this message at 04:05 on Apr 20, 2020

RillAkBea
Oct 11, 2008

Regarding translations/localizations, as somebody who works in translation, the key to a "Good TranslationTM" is an active relationship between the studio and the localization team. The studio should provide the team with appropriate supporting documents and a line of communication open to ask questions. In the Aerith/Aeris scenario, theoretically the studio should provide a list of official English spellings for proper nouns because there's literally no way to infer the exact spelling from Japanese. There's also the question of creative freedom in translation which is somewhat more difficult.