Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

NikkolasKing
Apr 3, 2010

Are there any good scifi or fantasy books that prominently feature a hivemind entity/race? For those of you who have played System Shock 2, I am new to it and realized that The Many greatly interest me and I'd like to see more of the same or similar. I am no good at FPSes so Halo and the Flood are out. Besides, as much as love me some video games, nothing beats a good book with regards to bizarre alien lifeforms.

I've gotten some great recs in the past in here and was hoping for more of the same. Thanks in advance.

NikkolasKing fucked around with this message at 23:45 on Jan 9, 2020

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

NikkolasKing
Apr 3, 2010

So I know at least some people who watch or read scifi actually know something about this here science stuff. I do not.

I just watched an X-Files episode about a potential parasitic infection out break and while it was a parasite and not a virus it reminded me of stories like Crichton's The Andromeda Strain or King's The Stand.

I love stories like this but whenever I talked about how realistic they made the horror people came along and said actually bioweapons suck and viruses wouldn't really spread and be that dangerous. I just believed them but given the current state of the world, I've grown skeptical.

So, scifi readers who know science, are viruses and bioweapons actually as deadly as stories claim or not?