Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Boba Pearl
Dec 27, 2019

by Athanatos
I read the OP and I still don't understand the difference between the Rift S and the Oculus Quest, and which one I would want. I read a PC gamer article and it said that the Quest doesn't work with steam only a weird android store? https://www.pcmag.com/comparisons/oculus-quest-vs-oculus-rift-s-which-vr-headset-should-you-buy I'm new to this but I don't know which one I want to buy. I'm using a GTX 2060 card with a 9th Gen i7-9750H. I only have 3 USB ports on my machine, and they're very far spread out. It's a gaming laptop, but I overclocked the GPU to perform with the same stats as a desktop GTX 2060

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Boba Pearl
Dec 27, 2019

by Athanatos
The Oculus Quest doesn't come with a cable though right?

Boba Pearl
Dec 27, 2019

by Athanatos
A cable, a counterweight, a new face pad, and a new headband, I'm already spending 400 I don't want to spend another 100 on accessories. Also the screen door affect would really bother me I think. Though I'll listen to arguments that it's not that bad or whatever.

Boba Pearl
Dec 27, 2019

by Athanatos
I don't know if this is kosher conversation, but between the Rift S and the Quest, which one has more opportunities for :filez: like can you load cracked apps onto the quest or is there store pretty much locked down?

Boba Pearl
Dec 27, 2019

by Athanatos