Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Chaosfeather
Nov 4, 2008

Yeah Fluffy Bunnies is just on ignore for most of us, I think.

I used to work as a vet assistant and I get the suicide rates thing. I quit because the veterinarian I worked for was a toxic shithead, but if he hadn't done it in I know that being worn down by the clients and by all of the euths I would have eventually quit on my own. Thankfully the vet I used to work for is retired and his clinic is now owned by a vet who seems to have empathy and know her poo poo.

I wish the best for everyone who works in this type of profession. It's a pretty thankless job. The animals are scared so they bite you and scream. The clients are scared or assholes or idiots so they threaten and scream. And I'm pretty sure I saw more animal abuse and evidence of abuse working as an assistant than I would have ever hoped to have seen in my life. And that was only three years of work at a very small place!

Here's a good story from when I worked. So one sunny summer day we get a call, and the client is concerned about his dog having the shits. We ask him to come on in and we'll see how we can help. The owner is an older gentleman and the dog is an English bulldog who seems unconcerned about the condition of his poops.