Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Kiryen
Feb 25, 2015

I've always wanted one. This year, when my birthday roles around, in August, I'm doing it. I've got a lot of experience with pistols and ARs due to 22 years of military and law enforcement, but never a lever gun before.

I'm debating .30-30 v. .357 Magnum v. 45-70, and while I want it to look nice, I also don't want to spend much over $1000 (if that). Also, while .45-70 seems pretty classic (my tastes run very much to the historical), almost $2 a shot seems excessive.

Any views or past experience (especially "stay away from this godawful gun I purchased") much appreciated.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Action-Bastard
Jan 1, 2008

So I'll preface this with I've never owned or shot a lever action gun, but I have been lurking TFR for a decade and absorbing all the poo poo posted here.

That being said, if this is a recreational/plinking gun, and you don't need to drop a bear or moose, for practicality I'd steer you towards .357. Its a common and relatively cheap caliber and also gives you the option to shoot .38 special. Goons have also said they love their 30-30 lever guns.

Based on your budget the three major brands to look at are Rossi, Marlin, and Henry.