Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

tangy yet delightful
Sep 13, 2005

Yeah there used to be a trucking thread in AI, might find some truckers or former in the general chat thread there. I used to work as a freight broker, so driver adjacent similar to KYOON, freight brokers are middlemen between generally smaller shippers that don't have the volume to handle their own truck booking and generally smaller trucking companies that don't have enough of their own business. Certainly with exceptions, I've booked freight for Amazon shipments and had loads hauled by trucking companies with hundreds or thousands of trucks that they own.

Anyway I'm rambling but there's lots of different paths to take in trucking (they all suck to some degree for sure):
- day cab driving around a city
- long haul OTR for months just bouncing around from "good paying load buddy" "good miles" all over (some companies advertise getting you home every week or other week, I don't know how well they keep that promise)
- dedicated lanes can sort of fall between those extremes so maybe you're running freight for your company from your direct clients on a 2 day outbound trip and then you find 2-3 days worth of backhauls to get you home so the lanes and loads are fairly consistent and hopefully you build up a stable of good freight to haul