Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Tender Bender
Sep 17, 2004

Noob here, continuing the playthrough after the tutorial to try to unify Ireland. I had taken Desmond and pressed the claim of some rando in my court to make him a vassal ruling Oriel and Allech to the north, but my chancellor hosed up relations so he didn't like me very much. I made the Ulster duchy title and my wife found a loophole in the law that gave me a claim to Oriel. I then passed limited crown authority and decided to see what would happen if I revoked the vassals title to Oriel. I thought using a hook combined with my claim meant there would be no tyranny and thus it would be cool.

It was not, and the dude rebelled, along with the Earl of Desmond who hated me. My spymaster, the Earl of Ormond, joined them in a Liberty faction. Rather than reload, I decided to see how this played out. I ran around beating up their armies and in the end I had imprisoned the earls of Oriel/Allech, AND Desmond, letting me cleanly revoke their titles and now I directly own all those counties which is a pretty sweet position. This game rules.

Two questions:

1) My spymaster likes me and is still my vassal but also he just tried to overthrow me unless I misunderstood... Should I do something about that?

2) My adult son and heir has no way of life and it won't let me select one... Do I need to land him? Should I give him one of those counties I own?