Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

sharkytm
Oct 9, 2003

Ba

By

Sharkytm doot doo do doot do doo

Fallen Rib
In on the first page...

I'm self-taught, and use SolidWorks 2020 and AutoCAD 2010 (lol).
The best thing about SolidWorks is that there are tutorials for EVERYTHING, kinda like Photoshop or QuickBooks. Sure, they're expensive and cumbersome and lack a ton of features, but they're the industry standard.

I'd really like to learn Rhino/Blender or some other surface modeling program.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

sharkytm
Oct 9, 2003

Ba

By

Fallen Rib

Sagebrush posted:

1. Point object at center of hole (choose e.g. top circular edge)

2. Construct reference plane using point and a parallel face

3. Insert sketch, draw centerline down middle of hole, draw circle where you want the groove

4. Cut-revolve operation

Yes.
Planes, sketches, and axes will set you free. They're incredibly powerful tools. Need to make an odd cut? Project a plane and draw a sketch!

Library stuff is handy, but can really bog things down if you use the smart fasteners or that sort of stuff. It's great for making derived parts, though. Need to make a bolt with a hole in it, or a groove turned in it? Copy a toolbox part then modify it.

The hole wizard is incredibly useful, too. I just wish it would snap to geometry for more than the first hole.

sharkytm
Oct 9, 2003

Ba

By

Fallen Rib

NewFatMike posted: