Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

UtahIsNotAState
Jun 27, 2006

Dick will make you slap somebody!
I am a full stack web developer, and I've always wondering how game developments works compared to web dev.

1) How is tooling for game development?
Context: Up until like mid 2010 web dev didn't have the ability to easily do a lot of stuff you see on the web today. Around that time some tools launched which made being able to quickly and easily build complex stuff. Now we constantly have new open source tools and software to make life easier for us. These tools typically drastically reduce the amount of code we have to write, or automate a tedious process to reduce the amount of time we spend writing code.

What kind of coding tools do you guys use to make game dev life easier?

2) Has developing games become easier over time?
Context: As mentioned above, web development has become really easy to the point that you can do a lot of stuff that wasn't easy before. Games seem like they get more difficult over time because of all the new features. Is it more difficult to make games now then before? Or has it become easier as time goes on?

3) What was version control like when you started? Did you use git?