Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

BeAuMaN
Feb 18, 2014

I'M A LEAD FARMER, MOTHERFUCKER!

ScrubbingBubbles posted:

Holy poo poo. This is legal for something that needs an E-stop? Jesus.
Yeah. I mean any good installer would understand that PLCs offer many benefits but when people are at risk of being maimed or killed that it's best not to leave that kind of relief to the whims of the complexities of a logic box, whether it fails mechanically or through some scenario whoever programmed it didn't think up. I never really worked out in the field so I went off stories I had in school, so I couldn't say how prevalent E-Stops being wired to PLCs is, but they do most certainly exist and it is (or was) an ongoing debate within the installer community.

Dip Viscous posted:

I worked on a machine like that once. Whenever there was a brownout all of the controls, including e-stops, would quit working for about 30 seconds even if the machine kept running.

We're talking 170 yard long textile machine by the way, not some pissant lathe or something.

One wrong brownout and OSHA will own that company.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Dip Viscous
Sep 17, 2019

Too big of a company to get hit, unfortunately, even with constant injuries and dozens of whistleblowers. When I tried to point out things to an OSHA inspector he turned around and walked off.