Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Dr. Arbitrary
Mar 15, 2006

Bleak Gremlin
I'm totally ignorant when it comes to *nix, but I think I'll need to get the RHCSA at some point to keep my career moving.

Can anyone recommend one or two books that will take me from zero to RHCSA?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Dr. Arbitrary
Mar 15, 2006

Bleak Gremlin

Tab8715 posted:

I'm studying for my Windows 2012 MCSA - one of them I've come across is DHCP and how it may be a security risk and assigning addresses statically is more secure.

My question, does anyone actually do this? I know it's a best-practice or literally required to assign static IPs to servers but for other endpoints? That's just a managerial nightmare, I can't imagine any big company or even governmental organizations implementing this... I don't see how it could be that big of a risk either, it's not like someone can't just assign an IP to rouge device either...

Maybe there's better ways to do it, but I'm guessing that for your ultra-secure network of servers that would literally destroy the company if they were compromised, use Static IPs. For the branch office in Wyoming, DHCP should be ok. For stuff in between... I'm not sure.

Dr. Arbitrary
Mar 15, 2006

Bleak Gremlin

MC Fruit Stripe posted: