Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Freakazoid_
Jul 5, 2013

Buglord
The recent drop in oil prices is being discussed in several threads, so it seems like a main thread is in order. I'm not an expert, I'm just putting together what I've read.

A barrel of Brent Crude oil is currently near $60 a barrel, the lowest it's been since 2009. US Crude is below $60, also the lowest since 2009. OPEC has said it will remain low for the next several months, possibly dropping to around $40 a barrel. Unlike the brief price drops in the past, this one has wide-ranging repercussions.

How did this happen?

There is an oversupply of oil on the market, primarily caused by non-OPEC oil sources and OPEC's reaction to it.

- Shale Oil is in full swing, producing enough oil to meet much of the demand in the US.

- OPEC's oil cartel is arguably broken. OPEC has ordered oil production to remain high in an attempt to crush competing energy sources. They have made it clear this will continue for at least several months.

- Obama supposedly encouraged OPEC to follow this course of action, primarily as a punishment against Russia for their attempt at taking over Ukraine.

- China and Europe are experiencing slower growth and demand for oil is down.

How does this affect me/my country?

It's good news for some and bad news for others.