Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
tworavens
Oct 5, 2009
How did you get started in the field? I'm currently a student in an Electrical program at a tech college. Anyway they thought us some residential commercial stuff, but I've had the most fun doing industrial and control work. Basically I'm having a hard time finding a place willing to hire me with no experience beyond school. Any tips?

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

tworavens
Oct 5, 2009

Anti-Hero posted:

That's just how the market is right now.

Are you working on your Associate's or a Bachelor's degree?

My work progression has been pretty simple. I went to an ABET accredited school for my BSEE and interned one summer for a power engineering consulting firm. They offered me a full time position after I graduated and I've been in the industry ever since.

Associates degree. But since starting the program I've accrued a lot of credits toward a Bachelors degree if I want if and I think I want to go back to school in a few years.

tworavens
Oct 5, 2009

rainwulf posted:

Question again for anyone: does anyone know/work with the high current low voltage DC stuff used in aluminium refineries? I have heard of stories revolving around the current being so high that its magnetic fields can actually bend stuff, but i would like to hear from an expert.