Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

ClumsyThief
Sep 11, 2001

Sixfools posted:

I worked as a field technician/installer for a cable company for a number of years before making the leap

Funny hearing that. I was a cable tech for about ten years before I landed a job with one of our construction contracting companies. How did you find the RF knowledge useful in your new gig? I have a strong working knowledge of DOCSIS, RFOG and a lot of other systems in place in modern cable companies but it always felt very... proprietary? Like it’d be generally useless if you aren’t working for a cable company or ISP.

I dropped out of college years ago after getting an AA in general studies, but have been looking at SNHU’s Information Technology degrees lately and thought about trying my hand at it with the tuition reimbursement available to me. They also accept A+, Security+ and Network+ as replacements for a few classes so I will likely begin studying soon and knock those out to get a jump on it so even if I don’t finish the degree I’ll have something of substance for a possible career change.