Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

cage-free egghead
Mar 8, 2004
I've been working in Desktop Support for 2 years now, have 3 years as a Dell hardware contractor, and have been the go to person for a few years on tech issues for friends/family. No formal education or certs but I'm looking to change that.

I was going to go to WGU for the Network+Security BS but I'm not sure if I am ready to commit "4 years" of school work as I haven't taken any classes in nearly 5. I'm thinking the A+ and N+ are out as my experience trumps that now. I'm not sure if I want to do Network Admin or Sec, but I feel like that's the best place for me to go to get a decent career.

My local community college offers certificates (30 credits), diplomas (58 credits), and AAS degrees (72 credits) depending on what you're looking for. I'm assuming with my years of experience that even going with a certificate wouldn't hurt and would be a good primer to get back into studying without over doing it.

Would this be an okay option? Or would just going for the CCNA by doing the ICND exams be a better resume booster? Are there any relevant Microsoft or higher-tier CompTIA certs that'd benefit me too?

Edit: A coworker thought that the Net+ might not be a bad starting point.

cage-free egghead fucked around with this message at 22:03 on Oct 26, 2017

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

cage-free egghead
Mar 8, 2004