Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Pumpkinreaper
Jan 19, 2010
I started playing ADOM recently and bought it on steam today. Definitely scratches that roguelike itch, but could seriously use some cleaning up controls-wise.

Today on a troll fighter I randomed, I was doing troll stuff and eating whatever was on the floor (except kobolds, too much trouble) and picking up pretty rocks and a pixie shows up.

I immediately jump on the fucker and kill it, knowing from previous experience that they like to drop a lot (for the part of the game I'm in at least) of gold. The fucker left a corpse too.

So I eat it.

Cue me teleporting randomly every few turns and 'accidentally' stealing a ring of damage and a nice broadsword.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Pumpkinreaper
Jan 19, 2010
I think ADOM hates me.

I randomed a priest and when I tried to learn divine fury (or whatever it's called) I first fell into a hole, then when I crawled out of it and tried again, I was randomly teleported and had to beat a bat to death so I could try again.

Finally, the book just bursts into flames :shepface:

Pumpkinreaper
Jan 19, 2010
Another ADOM tale:

So, I went into the unremarkable cave at lvl 1 on a drakeling paladin and found all sorts of crazy bullshit, like a 2h adamantium sword crazy.