Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

CHUCK WAS TAKEN
Aug 1, 2004
this kid has heart

Suspect Bucket posted:

Victoninox 6in Semi Flex boning knife. Baring that, everyone loves a Bubba Blade

For a fish scaler, I recommend a dull spoon, or any fine cutco product from a thrift store

good post! dropping $$$ on any knife made of steel that's flexible, or especially on a scaler is stupid, and as a pro cook I can tell you that Victorinox, Dexter and Mercer got the stamped steel game on lock, so pick any one of those. If you wanna buy a purpose built scaler, go to Walmart.

If he wants to put his fillet knife in a tackle box, something that has like a sheath or blade guard included is probably good, but man if he kills a lot of fish and doesn't have one already then he's probably Gollum and is cool with just using his teeth. Buy him a whetstone or a Sharpmaker or something

e: I read the PYF post where you said he was just getting in to it, so forget what i said and get the victorinox with somethin like this and especially somethin like this if you wanna look slick

CHUCK WAS TAKEN fucked around with this message at 08:22 on Nov 22, 2019

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

gay picnic defence
Oct 5, 2009

I'M CONCERNED ABOUT A NUMBER OF THINGS