Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

BonHair
Apr 28, 2007

Discendo Vox posted:

C'mon, think for a minute. There is no way to automatically assign SSNs at birth. Think about what that would entail. I am not an expert on national ID systems, but a quick googling says all nations with similar populations and such systems require an appliation process. It's never automatic.

The US SSN system, to the degree that it's more complicated than other countries (it's not) is older than other systems and covers a bigger population, operating across multiple states.

When my son was born in Denmark, he got a SSN immediately, and the name "boy A motherslastname". They had a little printer for the armband, which was ready before we left the OR.

In this vein: the US census. It took me well into my twenties to understand that your guys still do these. It's completely archaic to someone who grew up in Denmark to imagine having to ask people to get an idea of the population.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

BonHair
Apr 28, 2007

kaschei posted:

How does Denmark count their people? Even a national citizens registry wouldn't suffice because the census counts all people regardless of citizenship, and it (attempts to be) accurate down to street address.