Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
CRISPYBABY
Dec 15, 2007

by Reene
Assuming an orthodox stand, what do you usually do with your right arm in a muay thai roundhouse kick? I'm a little confused cause I'm new to this and am getting different instructions. The classes I was taking at one place taught me to stick the arm out and swing it to the left along with the kick, and told explicitly not to bring the arm back. Moved back home and at the new place I'm going to went out of their way to tell me to bring the arm back (like this http://www.monkeysee.com/play/1259-muay-thai-kickboxing-how-to-throw-a-round-kick). Is it just a personal preference thing? I feel like I can get more force and balance bringing it back, but I can also see how the original way I was taught probably offers better defense.

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

CRISPYBABY
Dec 15, 2007

by Reene
Cool, thanks a ton dude. Yeah, you figured out what I was saying. The first place I was at was a more traditional Thai-style place while the one I'm at right now is more modern styled, so that explains some stuff..

CRISPYBABY
Dec 15, 2007

by Reene

Bangkero posted:

My previous post on recommending boxing is pretty much the same for kickboxing. Minimal small talk, just shut the gently caress up and train.