Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

• Locked thread
Shifty Pony
Dec 28, 2004

Up ta somethin'

discoukulele posted:

Does anyone know where I can find some information about how this will affect oil-producing states?

I'm a social worker in Texas, and it's hard enough to find resources for people in crisis as it is, so I'm really concerned about what the chain reaction of any sort of economic slump will be.

If you are reliant on state funding I would watch out and (if you are in the position to do so) start pushing harder for every federal grant program you possibly can.

Unfortunately our state doesn't bother to keep funding up for social services in the boom times. A bust isn't going to be pretty.

Our schools are going to be hosed so bad...

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

ReidRansom
Oct 25, 2004

Shifty Pony posted:

Our schools are going to be hosed so bad...

And where they're not tied to a specific thing like the PUF, my concern is that any cuts in funding coming from general state revenues will never be restored to previous levels. That's usually how things seem to go.

computer parts
Nov 18, 2010

PLEASE CLAP

ReidRansom posted: