Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

funny song about politics
Feb 11, 2002
I'm currently doing my postdoc in neuroscience and epigenetics (neuroepigenetics) at a major US medical school. I received my Ph.D. in Neuroscience in 2015, and altogether I've been working in academic science for over 10 years. My background is in the hypothalamus, and in particular the control of food intake, appetite, and energy expenditure. Parts of this brain region, through their connections with the autonomic nervous system, as well as peripheral signals of energy balance (hormones, nutrients, etc.,) play a major role in governing our food intake and body weight regulation. I also have a lot of experience studying the neurobiology of sex, drug addiction, stress, and mental illness.