Register a SA Forums Account here!
JOINING THE SA FORUMS WILL REMOVE THIS BIG AD, THE ANNOYING UNDERLINED ADS, AND STUPID INTERSTITIAL ADS!!!

You can: log in, read the tech support FAQ, or request your lost password. This dumb message (and those ads) will appear on every screen until you register! Get rid of this crap by registering your own SA Forums Account and joining roughly 150,000 Goons, for the one-time price of $9.95! We charge money because it costs us money per month for bills, and since we don't believe in showing ads to our users, we try to make the money back through forum registrations.

Truman Peyote
Oct 11, 2006

check out the philistines in the thread about the Spotify CEO saying musicians should just release music more often if they want to make money

quote:

shakezula 8 hours ago [–]

I used to work in the music industry professionally, on the ground level doing booking and management. This trend has been happening slowly for nearly a decade but it’s finally here. Rap and Hip Hop figured out a long time before most other genres that rapid small releases was a far better way to keep hype and sales up. Before Spotify was a thing, the shift was happening with YouTube but it wasn’t as predominant. Now it’s basically assumed you’ll be releasing singles every month.

The music isn’t your product, the music is your marketing. The shows, the merch, your influence - that’s your product.

quote:

quacked 8 hours ago [–]

> The music isn’t your product, the music is your marketing. The shows, the merch, your influence - that’s your product.

Man, that's depressing.

quote:

ZephyrBlu 2 hours ago [–]

It's amazing, not depressing. Music is an incredibly effective marketing channel.

it is a rich vein

Adbot
ADBOT LOVES YOU

Truman Peyote
Oct 11, 2006

how would HN people recognize decent writing anyway? I saw this article at #2 this morning. I think my favorite quote is "books can teach us many things."

Truman Peyote
Oct 11, 2006

quote: